Outpour of accolades as Abuja Sports Journalists honour President

Outpour of accolades as Abuja Sports Journalists honour President
December 03 15:11 2023 Print This Article

The dosage of honour oozing around the current National leadership of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) reared up again as Sports Journalists within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) rolled out drums to celebrate their President, Mr. Isaiah Benjamin.

This is as they bestowed a deserving Meritorious Award on SWAN President at a high octane event to mark the grand finale of 2023 FCT SWAN Week in Abuja.

The Special Merit Award presented to the SWAN President by former Director-General of National Sports Commission, Mallam Alhassan Yakmut, supported by the FCT Director of Sports Mr. Lukas Istifanus in the presence of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Alhaji Ibrahim Gusau, was in recognition of his dedication and professionalism in the discharge of his duties in Nigeria.

While reeling out the outstanding leadership qualities of Mr. Benjamin, Chairman of SWAN FCT, Mr. Ndubueze Chidoka, said since his emergence as SWAN President few months ago, the face of sports writing has taken a new trajectory.

“For us in FCT, we are glad that SWAN is gradually enjoying a new lease of life under Mr. Isaiah Benjamin. He has always been a unique leader even before he became our President.

“His antecedents speak volumes and we know that with his accelerated development approach in administering SWAN affairs, better times are ahead,” he said.

Receiving the Award on his behalf, SWAN Secretary-General, Amb. Ikenna Okonkwo, thanked SWAN FCT for remaining focused over the years with array of Sports Writing Veterans.

He then assured Sports Media Professionals and other Special Guests at the occasion that his administration was committed to ensuring utmost welfare of SWAN members nationwide as efforts are on to resolve existing issues in all chapters of the Association with a view to ensuring that everyone is on the same page.

He said, “I sincerely appreciate my respected colleagues in FCT for this rare honour. This will spur me to do more. As a leadership, we will remain committed to serve you the most in the coming months and years.”

The FCT SWAN also honoured other distinguished personalities including serving and former leaders of the Association as well as NFF President Alhaji Gusau.

Incumbent and former SWAN Secretary-Generals – Amb. Okonkwo, Mr. Jude Opara, Mr. Andrew Abah, former SWAN FCT Chairmen – Mr. Kayode Adeniyi, Mr. Tony Ezimako, Mr. Victor Iroele, Veteran Sports Writers – Mr. Calistus Ibare, Mr. Paul Atte, Mr. Lekan Olaseinde, Elder Asueliemen Osasuyi, Mr. Ezeocha Nzeh, Mr. Ben Ogbemudia, Mr. Ben Nwachukwu, Coach Patrick Ngwaogu, former Secretaries Mr. Chinedu Ohanusi and Mr. Martin Odiete among others were also honoured at the event which also featured a five-aside football competition final between the Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) and Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN).

At the end of hostilities decided inside Area 3 playground, NTA edged FRCN 1-0 to win the tournament a record sixth time.

  Article "tagged" as:
view more articles

About Article Author

The Ajasa News
The Ajasa News

View More Articles
write a comment


No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Add a Comment